Five Severna Park Teachers to be Honored at Banquet

The 27th annual Excellence in Education banquet will honor 48 public school teachers and four private school teachers.

Five teachers from Severna Park schools are among 48 teachers to be honored at the 27th annual Excellence in Education banquet in April. At the conclusion of the banquet, the winners for Teacher of the Year will be announced.

On April 29, Anne Arundel County Public Schools (AACPS) and the Annapolis & Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce will celebrate the accomplishments of the areas top educators at the BWI Marriott in Linthicum.

According to a press release, the event will also honor local businesses that have forged critical partnerships with schools across the county, directly benefiting 77,000 students who attend AACPS.

At the conclusion of the banquet, the winner for 2013 Anne Arundel County Public and Private School Teachers of the Year will be announced. The Public School Teacher of the Year will represent the county in the Maryland State Teacher of the Year competition.

“This is truly a great opportunity to recognize teachers throughout our system and from private schools who go to incredible lengths every day to help children,” said Superintendent Kevin Maxwell in the release. “It is also a chance to thank businesses in our school communities who do so much to create incredible opportunities for our students.”

The following Severna Park-area teachers have been nominated by their schools and school communities:

  • Susan Grieve, Folger McKinsey Elementary School
  • Amy Kostelnik-Insley, Jones Elementary School
  • Stacy Langhirt, Severna Park Elementary School
  • Michael Philip, Severna Park Middle School
  • Marjorie Smith, Shipley's Choice Elementary School
Maureen Whittington January 31, 2013 at 02:20 PM
In addition to Susan Grieve--our amazing fifth grade math teacher--Folger McKinsey Elementary has three other superb teachers that are being honored at the Excellence in Education banquet in April. They are: Jessica Meredith, Folger McKinsey Elementary School Amy Nelson, Folger McKinsey Elementary School Pamela Nicewarner, Folger McKinsey Elementary School Thank you! Maureen Whittington Folger McKinsey Elementary School PTO President


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »